top of page

1971 B.Sc. in Chemistry, Tel Aviv University.

1972 M.Sc. in Chemistry, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev.

1977 Ph.D. Weizmann Institute of Science, with Yehuda Mazur.

1977-80 PostDoc, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, with B.M. Trost.

1980-89 Assoc. Prof., Organic Chemistry, Weizmann Institute.

Since 1989 on Technion faculty.

1991-2013 Adjunct Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and the Skaggs Inst. for Chemical Biology, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California.

1995 Professor of Chemistry, Faculty of Chemistry, Technion.

1995-1999 Vice-Dean and Head of Graduate and undergrad Chemistry programs. 

1999-2004 Founder and Head, Institute of Catalysis Science and Technology, Technion.

1999-2003 Member of Technion committees for Tenure and Promotions.

Since 2003 President, International Forum of Bio-Inspired Engineering (ISBIE).

2004-2005 Dean, Faculty of Chemistry, Technion.

2006-2012 Chairman of professional committees for Tenure and Promotions.

Since 2009 Editor-in-Chief, Israel Journal of Chemistry, Wiley-VCH.

2008-2012 Member of the Inter-Senate Committee of the Israeli Universities.

Since 2008 Chairman, Advisory Council of High School Chemistry Education.

Since 2008 President, the Israel Chemical Society.

Since 2011 Member of the Executive Board, EuCheMS.


research interests: biocatalysis with antibodies and with synthetic enzymes, organic synthesis, molecular-computing devices, synthetic receptors, host-guest chemistry, molecular containers, molecular machines, peroxide-based explosives, drug discovery related to cancer, arrhythmia and asthma. 

Benno Gitter and Ilana Ben Ami Professor of Chemistry


bottom of page